Blog update for unit 5. 21st November 2016

Following on from my recent blog regarding my project for unit 5, in which I stated that I am going to draw whatever reaches the page via my mind. To clarify that,  I mean that when putting pencil to paper I have no idea what I want to draw, I will just go with where and how my pencil moves. On doing this, I am finding that I am surprised at some of the results.

I watched a programme on television the other night about Christies auction house and was fascinated and amazed at what constitutes art and how much people are prepared to pay for it.

One of the artists whose work was on sale was called Modigliani who I had not heard of before  but really liked his work, so original and deceptively simple.

Watching the programme confirmed what I already knew, which is that, most things people collect in art are most of the time, dictated by fashion. The price of art can go down as well as up.

Apparently Picasso and Monet pictures are not realising the prices they were last year. Contemporary art prices however are very boyuant.

So, I have revised my project aims from my original thoughts. On drawing I have discovered that I do like drawing straight lines and curves which sounds rather silly as that is what art consists. of.

What I am trying to say is that I am going to do a picture made up of curves only and another consisting only of straight lines.

I have absolutely no idea what the end result will be, but that is the exciting part, as there will be no influence or inspirations from other artists, which, although this does not follow the premise of the project, it is what I feel moved to do.

These two pieces will be done in tandem with my drawings for my illustrations. Looking at some of my drawings which I have done  to date, at first glance they appear rather juvenile, but on looking at them again I quite like them and feel quite paternal about them. I will have to think of names for my creations.

So, watch this space, looking forward to seeing what develops over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

