First blog for 2nd term and understood

I read the fact sheets for part two  (unit five) of the Foundation Diploma in Art and design course.

I went on the V &A website to look for something which would tally with my aspiration s of illustrating children’s books. After looking extensively on the website, I could find nothing to inspire me.

I began to wonder once again if  I was on the right course for what I want to achieve, which is really to learn how to draw. I was feeling quite disheartened about the whole thing.

I then typed in children’s illustrations on google and came up with a whole raft of pictures by various artists, most of which I had not heard of.

The variety and styles were amazing. One thing I did notice was that they were all so different and original. That is what I want to be, (as I am sure all artists do) original. I do not want to be influenced by another person’s work.

I have also come to realise that to be inspired by someone is not the same as being influenced by them.

So, I went back to the drawing board so to speak and gave great thought to “Where do I go from here”?

Before I started the course, the idea of writing and illustrating children’s books had been with me for years, but I had never progressed further than that. This course has focused my mind on actually doing something about it.

With this thought in mind, for my unit five project I am going to focus on my drawing and see what comes out of my imagination, but also to go down and explore the digital illustration path too.

From being quite despondent about things, I am now quite excited. Although the project has no definite target, the results could be very surprising.

 

Leave a Reply

