Document the Day 1.

Mitchell and Kenyan recorded scenes and people of a particular era. Each era has it’s own unquieness and time in eternity

When I was a young girl I thought that things would stay the same for ever. It was only as I got older that I realised that constant change is an integral part of life, the only constant in our lives is change.

So as  Mitchell and Kenyon recorded things and people in Blackburn all those years ago, being of their day, so I am doing the same thing on a smaller scale that they did. I am sure they would not recognise society and Blackburn as it is today.

They would see that it has changed in some ways beyond recognition, but in some ways parts of it are still the same in terms of architecture.

Litter is a social commentary of our times.

Taking as my subject to focus on I have chosen litter, a fact of life that would be in evidence in Mitchell and Kenyon’s time in the form we see today.

The attached photos show a reflection of how changes in society and attitudes can also change the landscape of the place we live in eg.

1. Cigarette butts, tin cans, discarded cartons of half eaten food and toffee wrappers.

From being a totally  accepted social thing half a century ago, it is now the complete opposite. To such an extent that it is now against the law to smoke in a public place. This has given rise to an unprecedented increase of discarded cigarette butts on not only the streets of Blackburn, but throughout the country.

Where as liquid refreshment was sold in glass bottles and ( most importantly) there was money back for returning the bottles to the shop. Liquids for the most part nos sold in either tin cans or plastic bottles, (neither of which has a refundable value). Hence, in all parts ofBlackburn discarded bottles and cans can be seen in the gutters  and pavements, (even though there may be a litter bin close by.

On the way to college one morning I saw on the pavement, a discarded polystyrene carton containing a half eaten meal. The meal in question consisted mainly of chips. I saw this every morning and saw how it gradually decomposed and disintegrated until, after a few mornings the food had completely disappeared. Wether vermin or animals had helped it on it’s way I do not know. The polystyrene however wa still totally intact, and will be for hundreds if not for thousands of years.

Toffee wrappers and crisp packets are in evidence  where ever you look on the streets of the town.

All the above reflect changes within the town over the past 50years.

One of the main reasons of so much litter on the streets is the change in the eating habits of people. People now for a lot of the time, eat on the go, and so discard cans, cartons etc, willy billy wherever they are walking.

Another is the mental attitude of people. Some people, (not all) seem to have a total disregard for the environment they live in. They think nothing of throwing their rubbish away where ever they are, expecting others to pick it up for them.

I don’t know if what I have written is relevant to the course but I just wanted to explain the changes regarding litter

Just to say that litter will be my theme for document the day.

In my sketch book I am going to do a collage of litter surrounding a photo of Queen Victoria, a relic of Mitchell and  Kenyon’s time.

The photos I will use are the ones I took as part of document the day.

Included within the photos are images of fallen leaves, the litter of nature, which has set my mind off on a different  tangent. Part of my work could include natures litter, which is so much more eco friendly.

As I said, I feel so much more positive than I did last week.

 

Leave a Reply

