Perspective in Drawing.

This morning was spent in learning perspective in drawing. It is all about lines.

In all perspective drawing you start with an horizon line which is horizontal.

Firstly we did a one point perspective drawing, which is the most basic drawing and consists of vertical and horizontal lines. I have shown this in my sketch book.

Two point perspective drawings have no horizontal lines and all the vertical lines run parallel to each other. Vanishing points are used, these should be as far away from each other as possible, even going off the page if necessary.

The lines leading to the vanishing points are drawn in dashes

On understanding the principles of two point perspective, using the same principles, I added other boxes to my picture and shading to give it more detail. It was all very clever.

The tutorial then went on to putting a cylinder in the box, this I found more complicated. I have forgotten a lot of the measuring needed to draw the cylinder, so I will have to look it up.

I am going to buy a book on perspective then I can refer back to it whenever I need to.

Apparently there is 3, 4, 5, etc points drawing, which are more complicated as the number goes up.

Leave a Reply

