Leningrad Cowboys.

I don’t really know what to say about this film, apart that it is really not one that I would normally go to see, but hey this course is all about new experiences.

If I was supposed to get some deep meaningful message from it, than I totally missed it.

I watched it as I would any film, and enjoyed the comedy aspect of it, especially the hair and shoes.

When I looked into it on Wikipedia I found the fact that the band was conceived in a bar in 1986 as a joke on the waning power of the Soviet Union. The film was made first and then the group took on a life of it’s own. It is still going strong, the group is now made up of 11 cowboys and 2 ladies.

They have made 2 other films, Leningrad cowboys meet Moses and Total Balalaika Show, both made in 1994.

Would not mind seeing them, just out of curiosity.

Leave a Reply

