Scratch Film.

The scratch film, also known as direct animation was inspired by, Len Lay, Brad Povey and Stephenie Maxwell.
It involves scratching images or designs on to 16mm film.

For our scratch film we used permenant coloure pens only to create our film.

The film was laye out over numerous tables, and each member of the course was allocated approx 24 frames,( which accounted fo 1 second of the film) on which to make an image. The frames were extremely small so, therefore the images had to be done in a size to fit the frame.

I made my design with smiley faces. Without realising I made them too large, instead of fitting into one frame, they covered three. It was only on looking at other people’s efforts that I realised my mistake. However, I will know next time, and as this was my first attempt, I can only improve.

Once we had completed the film Brian transferred it to a reel and we went over to the film studio. He put it on the projector and played it back to use so that we could see the results of our efforts.

It was very interesting and all sorts of images appeared on screen.

Unfortunately my design did not stand out sufficiently to recognise it, and I did not think take pictures whilest the film was running. The image that did stand out very well was that of an angel, it was excellent.

Leave a Reply

